Beautifully Different

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

I am on the short side and have wide Scandinavian hips. I also have broad cheeks and larger features which used to make me feel like an ape. I see Liv Ullmann in me now. On a good day, I look half like her and half like Jamie Oliver. My last partner liked my butt.

Sometimes I can be strongly sarcastic while also being the kind of person who cries during commercials and definitely during the solstice service at church (All those candles! All that talk about forgiveness and letting go and new beginnings!) I used to find it odd that I had such a split personality. Now I’m starting to embrace how unique and wonderful it is. How awesome it is that I can laugh, make people, cry, and hold people when they are crying.

~ by lithasblot on December 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
