Community

Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

I’m having trouble with this one, because there isn’t a particular community I would like to join. I just like community. I’d just like to have it somewhere. I have a community at work, but a work environment tends to limit our understanding of each other to certain roles. I know Ruth as a math teacher. I’ve known here for over two years now, though, and only just recently discovered what a wonderful writer she is. I teach Computer Science, but taught English for 12 years. Ruth and I can talk math, but now we can talk words too. Why did it take so long?

Community is more of a mindset than a specific group of people. It entails a willingness to actively seek to permeate the boundaries that separate us.

~ by lithasblot on December 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
