Let Go

What (or whom) did you let go of this year?

I turned 40 this year. I swear, on they day that I turned 40, I got smile lines on my left cheek. I think make me look wise and like I have a good sense of humor.

What didn’t happen as quickly was my ability to stop listening to others’ voices. But I did make progress–definitely–in this area over the course of the year. I spent the first two years of my job trying to please everyone. Consequently, I wasn’t confident in my own voice and really wasn’t doing a very good job.

This year, I’ve been making more calls on my own, drawing my bottoms lines, establishing my boundaries. At work, it’s working better.

In my personal life, I’m not so sure. I am trying to let go of outcomes–that I can’t do everything to please everyone. As soon as I let go of the need to find approval in this way, as soon as I can become more comfortable with the discomfort of saying now or being firm, I think my life will improve even more than it already has.

~ by lithasblot on December 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
