Wonder

How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

This year, I volunteered to teach the 1st-3rd grade class at Sunday School. When I put my name on the clipboard for this endeavor, I was still feeling on the outskirts of my new church community. I had been attending for a couple of months, but didn’t know that many people. I knew that at some point I was going to have to get more involved if I wanted to expand my social circle to include some true, deeper friends. But I worried that I would chicken out, or that I wouldn’t follow through on my commitment. I’ve had tendency in the past to drop undertakings once I feel uncomfortable. I am starting to redefine myself so that that personality quirk is no longer true.

I teach high school, so taking on the younger students was intentional. With teenagers, it’s easy to forget that they are young because many of their bodies aren’t. But with the little ones, there would be no doubt about their developmental immaturity. I welcomed this.

The 1st-3rd graders I’ve met this year have amazed me and filled me with a sense of wonder. Every Sunday, we follow a little ritual called “Joys and Concerns.” During this portion of class, each child comes up to the main table and drops a stone into a glass of water for each joy and concern they would like to share. My favorite Sunday was the one when Dakota came up to the glass, took seven stones, and proceeded to proclaim–with every single stone–“I love my family… and I love my family… and… I love my family.”

~ by lithasblot on December 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
