Moment

“Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors)”

I keep coming back to the same moment, the fleeting few seconds I first walked by that dilapidated tree house in the alleyway on my way to work. The first time I turned down that alleyway, I was transported. I had been walking to work for a few weeks and never taken that route before. I strolled down a little hill and the skinny, pot-holed road curved to the right. Suddenly, my view seemed overcome by green vines and lush, autumn reds and oranges spilling everywhere. It was the kind of road that conjures up the word “country amble” and there I was, in the middle of downtown Baltimore. The sensation of being completely removed from my urban surroundings was heightened by the appearance of a rumpled pick-up truck (a truck that never changed its parking spot from that day forward), broken linoleum chairs behind someone’s leaning-tower-of-Pisa garage, and that treehouse. The truck and chairs made me start humming a Ryan Bingham song, the jangly Bread and Water.

The treehouse made me think of To Kill a Mockingbird. There was something innocent about it, something so removed from the bus stop half a block away that would take people to work downtown in the hospital.

~ by lithasblot on December 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
